Rutherford B. Hayes (1822-1893)

Rutherford Birchard Hayes, 19th President of the United States (1877-1881)

Associated Houses

The White House

Washington D.C.

He was preceded in the Presidency by Ulysses S. Grant and after serving one term in office for the Republican Party was succeeded in 1881 by James A. Garfield. His Vice-President throughout was William A. Wheeler. In 1852, he married Lucy Webb and they had eight children, five of whom lived to adulthood. 
Contributed by Mark Meredith on 31/08/2022 and last updated on 31/08/2022.