Andrew Jackson (1767-1845)

General "Old Hickory" Jackson, 7th President of the United States (1829-1837)

Associated Houses

The Hermitage


The White House

Washington D.C.

He was preceded in the Presidency by John Quincy Adams and after serving two terms in office for the Democratic-Republican Party he was succeeded in 1837 by Martin Van Buren. His Vice-President during his first term was John C. Calhoun and for his second term he chose Martin Van Buren. He and his wife adopted three children (all sons), two of whom survived to adulthood.
Contributed by Mark Meredith on 21/11/2018 and last updated on 08/12/2023.